

Nomination deadline: Monday, March 3, 2025, 11:59 PM Eastern Time

Program Information and Scoring Criteria

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

The Jenesis Trailblazer Awards[™] recognize two exceptional US- or Canada-based female researchers or clinicians who have completed innovative research in the fields of pulmonary hypertension (PH), idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (IPF), or lung transplantation (LTx). Two non-monetary awards will be issued annually.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

The program will provide recognition to two female researchers or clinicians annually: one for the Jenesis Trailblazer Award[™] and one for the Jenesis Emerging Trailblazer Award[™] which recognizes an early-to-mid career researcher or clinician for innovative contributions to PH, IPF, or LTx. Recipients of these awards will be selected by an independent Scientific Review Committee (SRC), comprised of leaders in the fields of PH, IPF, or LTx. The SRC will review all submitted complete nominations. Announcement of award recipients will be made at an awards dinner hosted by the SRC and senior representatives of United Therapeutics.

Please refer to the Eligibility for Nomination section below to review the criteria nominees must meet to be considered for an award.

SCIENTIFIC FOCUS

The program aims to acknowledge and celebrate the development of female leaders in the fields of PH, IPF, or LTx and feed the talent pipeline by recognizing women at critical points in their careers.

SCIENTIFIC REVIEW COMMITTEE (SRC)

Applications will be assessed by an independent SRC comprised of leaders in the fields of PH, IPF, or LTx. Scientific merit, originality, feasibility, and potential impact in the fields of PH, IPF, or LTx will be considered.

Chair:

Mardi Gomberg-Maitland, MD, MSc

Walter G. Ross Chair in Clinical Research Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology Medical Director of MFA/GWUH Pulmonary Hypertension Program Chief Clinical Research Officer, SMHS OCR GWU School of Medicine and Health Sciences George Washington University Washington, DC

Chair Elect:

Stephen Chan, MD, PhD, FAHA

Vitalant Chair in Vascular Medicine Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology Director, Vascular Medicine Institute Director, Center for Pulmonary Vascular Biology and Medicine Associate Chief of Cardiology, Basic Science University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and UPMC Pittsburgh, PA

Review Committee:

Pedro Catarino, MD Professor, Cardiac Surgery Director, Aortic Surgery Staff Physician, Smidt Heart Institute Department of Cardiac Surgery Cedars Sinai

Los Angeles, CA

Murali Chakinala, MD

Professor of Medicine Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Director, Pulmonary Hypertension Care Center Director, Hereditary Hemorrhagic Telangiectasia Center Washington University in St. Louis St. Louis, MO

Vinicio A. de Jesus Perez, MD, FCCP, FAHA, ATSF

Associate Dean of MD Admissions, Stanford School of Medicine Professor of Medicine with Tenure Co-Director, Stanford Translational Investigator Program (TIP) Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine Stanford University Medical Center Stanford, CA

Deborah Levine, MD

Clinical Professor of Medicine Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Lung Transplantation Stanford Medicine Director, Lung Transplant Outreach Stanford, CA

Bradley Maron, MD

Professor of Medicine Senior Associate Dean for Precision Medicine Executive Co-Director, Institute for Health Computing Director, Pulmonary Hypertension Center University of Maryland Baltimore, MD

Kenneth McCurry, MD

The Jack B. Lally Endowed Chair in Thoracic Surgery Surgical Director, Lung and Heart-Lung Transplant Program Director, Ex Vivo Lung Perfusion Program Director, Respiratory ECMO Program Cleveland Clinic Cleveland, OH

Lana Melendres-Groves, MD

Assistant Dean of Faculty Affairs Vice Chair of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion Clinical Professor Director, Pulmonary Hypertension Medical Director, Clinical Trial Unit Department of Internal Medicine University of New Mexico School of Medicine Albuquerque, NM

Imre Noth, MD

Dudley F. Rochester Professor of Medicine Chief, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine University of Virginia Charlottesville, VA

Joshua Solomon, MD

Associate Professor, Department of Medicine Director, Interstitial Lung Disease Program Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care & Sleep Medicine National Jewish Health Denver, CO

ELIGIBILITY FOR NOMINATION

These awards are intended for female researchers or clinicians working in the fields of PH, IPF, or LTx.

Jenesis Trailblazer Award[™]

At the time of nomination submission, nominees must meet the following requirements:

- · Hold the title of either Associate Professor or Professor
- Hold a PhD degree or equivalent, or a doctoral-level clinical degree, such as MD, DO, or PharmD
- Be a US or Canadian citizen, permanent resident, or hold a valid nonimmigrant visa. This visa must be valid for the oneyear award period
- Be responsible for providing exceptional patient care or contributing innovative research to the fields of PH, IPF, or LTx

Jenesis Emerging Trailblazer Award[™]

At the time of nomination submission, nominees must meet the following requirements:

- Hold a title of no higher rank than Assistant Professor. Fellows and instructors are eligible
- Hold a PhD degree or equivalent, or a doctoral-level clinical degree, such as MD, DO, or PharmD
- Be a US or Canadian citizen, permanent resident, or hold a valid nonimmigrant visa
- Be responsible for providing exceptional patient care or contributing innovative research to the fields of PH, IPF, or LTx

NOMINEE REVIEW CRITERIA

Nominees are evaluated based on the following criteria:

- · Exhibited scientific/technical/clinical expertise
- Novelty/innovation of the research
- Potential impact and application of the research or ability to address unmet medical needs
- Impact the nominee may have had on the careers of other researchers or proteges

PROGRAM TIMELINE

Nomination Deadline:	Monday, March 3, 2025, 11:59 рм
	Eastern Time
Nominee Notification:	Monday, April 21, 2025 (estimated)
Jenesis Awards Dinner:	ATS 2025, (May 17-21, 2025,
	San Francisco) Exact Date TBD

INQUIRIES/CONTACT INFORMATION

For general inquiries, please call or email:Attn:Jenesis Trailblazer Awards CoordinatorTel:516-287-5015Email:utjenesisawards@j-jhealth.com

PREVIOUS JENESIS TRAILBLAZER AWARD™ RECIPIENTS

2024

Patricia A. Thistlewaite, MD, PhD

Professor and Program Director Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery University of California, San Diego La Jolla, CA

2023

Teresa De Marco, MD, FACC, FHFSA

Professor of Medicine R.H. and Jane G. Logan Endowed Chair in Cardiology Founder of UCSF Adult PH Comprehensive Care Center Medical Director of Heart Transplantation University of California, San Francisco San Francisco, CA

2022

Erika Berman Rosenzweig, MD

Director, Adult and Pediatric Pulmonary Hypertension Comprehensive Care Center and CTEPH Program Director, PPHNet Vice Chair for Clinical and Translational Research, Department of Pediatrics Professor of Pediatrics (in Medicine) Columbia University Irving Medical Center – New York Presbyterian New York, NY

EMERGING JENESIS TRAILBLAZER AWARD™ RECIPIENTS

2024

Anna Podolanczuk, MD

Assistant Professor of Medicine Weill Cornel Medicine Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine New York, NY

2023

Kara Goss, MD

Assistant Professor* UT Southwestern Dallas, TX

Ke Yuan, MD

Assistant Professor Boston Children's Hospital/Harvard Medical School Boston, MA

*At time of award